Skip to content
narrow screen wide screen auto screen Increase font size Decrease font size Default font size blue color orange color green color


Pacific Relations

The Cook Islands has formally established diplomatic relations with the following countries in the Pacific:      

 Australia     1994
 Fiji 1998
 New Zealand 1993
 Nauru 1994
 Papua New Guinea 1995

Samoa 2013

Tuvalu 2013

Niue  2013

Palau 2013

Kiribati 2013

Republic of the Marshall Islands 2013

Solomon Islands 2013

Vanuatu 2013 


The Cook Islands recently signed joint communiques to establish formal diplomatic relations during both the Polynesian Leaders Group Meeting held in Auckland in late August and in the margins of the 44th Pacific Islands Forum and related meetings held in the Marshall Islands in early September 2013. Efforts are underway to formally establish diplomatic relations with the Kingdom of Tonga later this year.

The Cook Islands engages with the remaining Pacific Island Countries and Territories primarily through CROP (Council of Regional Organizations of the Pacific) family of agencies such as the PIFS, FFA, FSM, PASO, SPC, SPREP, SPTO and USP.